Premarital Preparation Course

Premarital Counseling Online Course

Start your marriage off right by taking our online premarital preparation course. During this course you will gain new insights about relationships, communication, family values, and resolving conflict in your marriage. This course is a valuable asset which explores the many changes that come with marriage and committed relationships. Upon completing this course you will obtain a pre marriage counseling certificate, which you may present to the County to save on your marriage license fees, and avoid the mandatory three day Florida State waiting requirement. Please note that the State requires both partners to take this course.

Credits

Four hours of premarital preparation instruction delivered via online video instruction

Target Audience

• Couples getting married who want to learn how to better deal with the challenges of being married
• Couples who want to get married immediately and avoid the Florida three day wait

 

Policy and Procedures

• Please note that payment for this course is non-refundable.
• Upon registration and receipt of payment, you will receive an email with your login credentials to access the course.
• After logging in you have 30 days to complete the course.
• Florida law requires that you spend a minimum of four (4) hours on the premarital course. The course is structured to be completed with the exercises, which takes at least 4 hours if completed as instructed.
• At the end of the course you will instantly be emailed a PDF copy of your certificate of completion.
• The course certificate is valid for 1 year.
• Also note that some counties require an original certificate of completion, which we must print, sign, and mail to you. Please allow an additional two to three business days to receive your original certificate by mail.
• The counties requiring an original certificate are; Alachua, Bradford, Desoto, Dixie, Flagler, Gulf, Hernando, Highlands, Leon, Levy, Monroe, Nassau, Okaloosa, Okeechobee, Pasco, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, and Taylor Counties.


Frequently Asked Questions

This course is delivered online via pre-recorded videos.
The cost of a marriage license in Florida is set by each county and ranges from $84 to $94.
Florida Statutes 741.0305
http://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2010/741.0305
The premarital preparation course may include instruction regarding:
A man and a woman who intend to apply for a marriage license under s. 741.04 may, together or separately, complete a premarital preparation course of not less than 4 hours. Each individual shall verify completion of the course by filing with the application a valid certificate of completion from the course provider, which certificate shall specify whether the course was completed by personal instruction, videotape instruction, instruction via other electronic medium, or a combination of those methods. All individuals who complete a premarital preparation course pursuant to this section must be issued a certificate of completion at the conclusion of the course by their course provider. Upon furnishing such certificate when applying for a marriage license, the individuals shall have their marriage license fee reduced by $32.50.

(a) Conflict management.
(b) Communication skills.
(c) Financial responsibilities.
(d) Children and parenting responsibilities.
(e) Data compiled from available information relating to problems reported by married couples who seek marital or individual counseling.
You choose! Both you and your partner may take the course individually or together. It's a lot of fun doing it together.
There are no exams in this course. However during this course you will have some fun assignments to complete.

Register for Class

1. Online - Video Format


On Demand